4 Things You Should Know Before You Get Married

My husband and I are approaching our first wedding anniversary, and I am so excited! I can’t believe how fast the year went by. I’m just as in love with my husband if not more as the day I said I  Do. My mom gave me some advice and said “if your first year went by fast, that’s a good thing. If it was slow and arduous, PRAY!” I think she was right.

Here are four things I learned in my first year of marriage, that I’m sharing with you before you get married: 1. You will not know every single thing about your spouse before you get married. Learning your spouse is a lifetime process. There are some staple things about my husband that I know will never change, but because he is learning and growing, there are things about him that will. 2. Prayer should be essential in your marriage. Pray separately and together. Praying together is so important because when you get married, you are united as one, and prayer maintains and strengthens that unity. Colossians 4:2 says “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.” 3. Pick and choose your battles! Everything that bothers you does not require a conversation or an argument. Having the last word is not always needed. Be slow to give our take offense, and be open to forgiveness. 4. Everything will not be perfect once you get married. The love for my husband grew more and more, not just because of all the wonderful times we had, but because how we handled difficult situations TOGETHER. Those tests can turn into testimonies if you keep God first! So, to my husband, Happy Anniversary to us, I pray that we have a lifetime more to celebrate! xoxo

 

Fatima custom signature

18 thoughts on “4 Things You Should Know Before You Get Married

  1. Nicole says:

    I definitely agree with picking and choosing your battles. Not everything that makes you upset should turn into an argument. You have to learn to let go and let things roll off your back.

  2. ajarzens says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary! While I’m not married (quite a few more years to go, lol) this advice is definitely invaluable. I love that you and your husband pray together!

  3. lderringer says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary! My husband and I just celebrated 2 years. These are really good points! In our first year of marriage I think every single one of them had to be addressed.

  4. Alison Agnew (@Nancherrrow) says:

    Just followed your link from the Blog Love FB group and I pinned this post! Prayer is it! So thankful for my husband of 19 years, and this weekend we just celebrated my parents’ 60th anniversary. Thankful for the Lord’s provision and blessing in our marriages!
    Alison
    Nancherrow

  5. Mary says:

    The advice your mom gave you is previous and so valuable. I love it. Thanks for sharing these four things. When thinking about marriage I think it’s easy to assume life will be perfect but it’s far from that.
    Happy anniversary!

I'm so happy you are visiting Freely Fatima. Leaving comments on my posts brings me so much joy! xoxo to you :)

