How meal planning can help YOU save money

20140722_200705

If you were to ask me if I would be meal planning now, I probably would have laughed and said “Meal planning?! Aint nobody got time for that!” I thought meal planning was for those super organized moms who have a van full of kids.

Well…I’m going to eat my words. I HAVE been meal planning (for about 6 months), and I HAVE saved money, and I HAVE saved time doing it!

Some  people meal plan everything: breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I’m sure if I meal planned everything, I would probably save more, but the way my life is set up, dinner can be a challenge. So that’s what I focus on.

When you meal plan, you are basically creating your shopping list. So not only does it save you time, it saves you money. The meal plan will be your guide when you go to the grocery store. I have found that with meal planning, I reduce the amount of ‘extra’ items I am getting. As a result, I tend to stay in my budget. Also, it reduces how many times, I am going to the grocery store. I have been able to get down to going to the grocery store every two weeks, with maybe one or two visits in between that.

So I challenge you, try meal planning at least the meal that is most difficult for you to plan, for one week and experience the benefits of it! Good luck 🙂

Fatima custom signature

I'm so happy you are visiting Freely Fatima. Leaving comments on my posts brings me so much joy! xoxo to you :)

