Segways and Faith

Segways

The hubby and I went on a small weekend getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We went to Pittsburgh and had a GREAT time! It was so nice to get away from our regular routine. We ate at fabulous restaurants, shopped, and did some sight seeing.

I wanted to do something fun and out of the ordinary, but also with some challenge. I’ve really been working on being open to new things, and I found a tour of the city of Pittsburgh on segways! I thought it would be fun and I was excited but boy, was I in for a test!

When we got there, we had to do a training to understand how the segway worked. I laughed at my self after the fact because I thought that we would have to use a joy stick (lol!). The way the segway worked was that it responded to your balance and movements. If you leaned forward on the balls of your feet, the segway would move forward and increase in speed. If you leaned back on your heels, the segway would slow down and if you went too far back, the segway would start moving backwards. If you started to go too fast it would force you to slow down, if you moved backwards too much (because the segway is really designed to move forward) or were off balance, it would start to rattle, and if you didn’t correct these wrongs, the segway would give you a warning sign that it would shut down in 30 seconds. If you didn’t get off in 30 seconds, it would fall down to the ground, and you would be forced to go with it.

So being me, I paid attention to all the bad stuff and was so worried that before the end of the tour, I would be face down on the ground. We had a small 1:1 training with our tour guide and learned how to ride the segway on a small course before we went out on the streets of Pittsburgh.

So here, I was learning how to balance myself on the segway:

20140718_162652

And here’s me and the hubby at the fountain at Point State Park:

2014071895170811

All in all, we had such a great time! We saw the city of Pittsburgh in such a cool and innovative way, I faced my fears, and I didn’t fall on my face! I was so proud of myself! And I began to reflect with my hubby about the experience and he brought up a good point! Riding the segways were similar to our walk of faith. Let me make explain it to you:

  • The trainer would not let us go out into the city of Pittsburgh until we were able to ride the segways safely in the obstacle course. If we weren’t able to successfully do this, we couldn’t be trusted in the streets. Makes sense right? It’s kind of like a metaphor to Matthew 25:23: “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!'”
  • If we got too overconfident, went too fast, or did too much, the segway would slow us down or even shut off until we were able to use it properly. Joyce Meyer once said, “If we don’t humble ourselves, God will be obligated to do it for us.”
  • The segway wasn’t really designed to move back. It operated best when it moved forward. The bible teaches us to “Forget those things which are behind and reach toward what is before us. I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus!” Phillippians 3:13-14
  • We had to trust the segway to move for us just like we Trust in the Lord with all our heart and lean not unto our own understanding. And in all our ways acknowledge him, he will direct our path. Proverbs 3:5-6

When we trust God, we are more than conquerors! Had I let fear overrule me, I would have missed out on a new and fun experience with the love of my life. Faith teaches us to go beyond our fears and limits so that we can live our lives fully and freely. I strongly recommend riding a segway! It’s so much fun and such an innovative way to tour a city!

Fatima custom signature

12 thoughts on “Segways and Faith

  1. lderringer says:

    Ah Pittsburgh! I grew up about an hour and a half east of there. I love it! I’ve never done a segway city tour though. Great way to relate your experience to faith.

I'm so happy you are visiting Freely Fatima. Leaving comments on my posts brings me so much joy! xoxo to you :)

