Trapped in the closet: An EASY guide to cleaning out your closet!

Why

About once a year, I set aside time to go through my closet and clean it out. I get rid of clothes that have been there too long, or clothes that I just haven’t worn. I usually do the cleaning right before fall-I think I started doing this in college because this was around the time of year I was getting ready to go back to school. The thought of getting rid of clothes makes me nervous because I love to shop and I truly do like the clothes that I buy.

When is the last time you cleaned out your closet? Take the poll!

If it’s been more than a year, what’s prevented you from cleaning it? I think one of the main reasons why I would avoid cleaning my closet was because I didn’t want to come to terms with gaining weight or that I was getting older, and some of the clothes I had just didn’t fit my lifestyle anymore.

When you go through your closet, ask yourself:

When’s the last time you wore this item? 

Could you see yourself wearing this item in the next two to four weeks? –My exception to this rule is special occassion dresses and shoes (even though, some of those have to go too sometimes!) And, if you live in an area that has all four seasons (like Upstate New York!) then you can be a little lenient with this rule too. What I’m wearing now, I probably won’t be wearing in October or November.

Can you still fit the item? Too small? Too big? Are you in between sizes?

Does it still fit your lifestyle? Not in college anymore? Switched careers? Retired? –This one is hard for me! I have tons and tons and tons of t-shirts that I wore in college  but I have come to realize that I don’t need them all…my hubby will be happy about this one!

Is it damaged? Rips, tears, or stains that won’t come out?

When our closets are packed with items we don’t wear, we say things like “I have nothing to wear” –I used to say it all the time! For me, cleaning my closet makes me feel so much more organized, it clears up space,  and I like knowing that everything in my closet is something that I plan to wear. And, honestly speaking,  cleaning out my closet is just an opportunity for me to make room for more! 🙂

Fatima custom signature

14 thoughts on “Trapped in the closet: An EASY guide to cleaning out your closet!

  1. Carrie This Home says:

    I have way too many clothes in my closet that I don’t wear. It would be so much better to give them to Goodwill and let someone else use them! These are great tips & I’ll have to keep them in mind next time I clean out my closet!

  2. Mandy says:

    This year I’ve discovered the magic that is a clean closet! By getting rid of items and having less to choose from I find that I never have those “I have nothing to wear” moments AND I love putting an outfit together. I’m in the process of trying to get rid of more items and replacing them with higher quality pieces that will last a long time and allow me to keep less overall items.
    Great blog post!

    • Freely Fatima says:

      Mandy!! That’s what it’s all about!! I have been doing the same thing. The last couple of years I have changed where I purchase things so that I have more high quality clothing that will last longer, and I’ve been getting a lot of timeless pieces that will never go out of style!

  3. Stephanie Cox says:

    What great advice. I can’t handle a messy closet. Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not always in top condition but I try to keep it organized and clean. It makes it so easier to to see what I have.

  4. Madaline says:

    I never ever clean out my closet! But that’s because I never ever buy things that either I don’t love or don’t look good (not always equal! Sometimes I will buy something purely because I love it!).

  5. Ekua says:

    I need to do a true purge of my closet! I’ve gone through my closet and gave clothes to a younger cousin (who loves my style and adores every item), this makes me feel good that i’m not “throwing them out”. If i have time, I’ll also attempt to sell things at Plato’s Closet or Clothes Mentor who busy lightly worn items, but I find that they also are very strict in what they will accept. Lastly, I have donated clothes to the City Mission and a Women’s domestic violence shelter, which you can also use when it comes time for tax write-offs!

    • Freely Fatima says:

      I do the same! I definitely think if the clothes are in good condition they can go to someone who needs them or can be donated! Platos Closet and Clothes Mentor can be strict with the style and sizes unfortunately I want to try and see if local consignment shops/boutiques would buy clothes!

I'm so happy you are visiting Freely Fatima. Leaving comments on my posts brings me so much joy! xoxo to you :)

