What is Business Casual Anyway?

What is

I really don’t like the term business casual because it can be interpreted in so many ways and (in my opinion) too often it is used to excuse bad clothing at work (eek! Yeah I said it..) This sounds simple, but before anything, read your employee handbook! Find out what is considered appropriate for your work atmosphere and in addition, you won’t go wrong with the following tips!!

  • No jeans. Period. Dark, light, bleached, stonewashed (yuck).  I’ve seen some great business casual looks for jean (chambray) shirts, but I would say even save the chambray shirts for casual Friday. Trousers, dress pants, or khakis are a better option.
  • Iron your clothes. This sounds like a simple no-brainer, but you would be surprised at how many people come to work with their un-ironed clothes.
  • Stay away from clothes that are too tight. Leggings are an absolute no unless you are wearing a tunic that is covering your booty. Looser clothing can actually make you look slimmer than tight tight clothes.
  • Ladies: Little to no cleavage. Leave a lot to be desired. Enough said…
  • Leave your sequins and hats for the weekend
  • One of my golden rules: If you would wear those shoes to the club, don’t wear them to work. I see this all the time. (cringes) It doesn’t matter how cute your business casual dress is, if you pair it with 5 inch heels with platforms, I’m not going to take you seriously. A better option is pumps that are 3 inches or less.
  • This goes for most clothes too. If you could wear that dress or top to the club, just don’t wear it to work!
  • Crop tops…no, just no. That also goes for anything strapless or with spaghetti straps.
  • Stay away from sneakers. There’s nothing worse than seeing someone look great from the ankle up.
  • Jewelry: I love to accessorize, but keep it simple. Don’t wear extra large or obnoxious looking earrings, jewelry, rings, or necklaces. Large pieces of jewelry will get more attention than you or what you have to say
  • Wear appropriate length skirts. Try to stay at knee length or longer. Again, leave a lot to be desired.
  • Match your prints with solid colors. Avoid wearing prints on the top and bottom.

Most of these rules are common sense but are great reminders if you aren’t sure about something when you get dressed in the morning. Also, think about your work place culture, and what your job entails when thinking about what to wear. Want to see some of my favorite business casual styles? Click HERE! Happy styling 🙂

Fatima custom signature

12 thoughts on “What is Business Casual Anyway?

  1. Brooke Ellen says:

    Everyone needs to read this post! I even needed to read it. Being a fashion lover is hard when working because I want to try new things but I know I have to hold back. Though I do work in fashion. I am learning my limits! hahaha.
    Love the post!

    xoxo
    Brooke

  2. Stephanie Cox says:

    Girl, you need to go talk to my old work about business casual. They were soooooooo open to just whatever and on any given day, at least one person would be looking like they rolled out of the club into the office.

  3. lderringer says:

    I’ve never been good at business casual. Usually I was way over dressed compared to my co-workers and after a little of that I just started dressing like everyone else, which usually meant pretty casual. Thankfully now I’m a nanny so my work outfit is usually a t-shirt and yoga pants haha. Great post! People (including me) don’t always get what business casual means.

I'm so happy you are visiting Freely Fatima. Leaving comments on my posts brings me so much joy! xoxo to you :)

