Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder: My Weekend Getaway

Absence Makes The Heart Grow Fonder: My Weekend Getaway | Freely Fatima

Have you ever had one of those weekends where everything went just perfect? All of your plans fell into place, you were surrounded by great people, good weather, good food…just good everything! I was initially away starting Thursday for work but ended staying for the weekend to spend some time with friends. After doing this, I realized that I need to do it more often. I was in the company of fabulous women who I have been friends with since college. Even though we aren’t always on the phone everyday or even every month, when we get together, we just pick up where we left off. It’s a beautiful thing.

I have never wanted to get so caught up in my marriage that I did not spend enough time with my friends. While the first year of marriage is always an initial adjustment, it’s important to have a healthy balance of being with your husband, being with your friends, and just being alone!

Healthy separation allows me to love my husband even more. It allows me to continue to be my own individual, and it keeps me grounded. Healthy separation allows me to be secure in my relationship. I do not worry about what he may be doing in my absence or vice versa. Healthy separation allows me to develop deeper bonds with likeminded women, it allows me to have my alone time with God, and it gives me the opportunity to reflect on my relationship. It’s so important to have this time apart (for the right reasons of course!) When you do this, you allow yourself to be stronger with who you are as well as who you are in your relationship.

What are your thoughts on healthy separation from your spouse or partner?  Let’s share and learn from each other ❤

Fatima custom signature

58 thoughts on “Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder: My Weekend Getaway

  1. Llinos (@thelilaclinnet) says:

    I used to be in a long distance relationship with my boyfriend. Now we live together I find it hard to imagine how we coped. But we often spend time pursuing our own interests and with different friends, which I feel is very healthy.

  2. Candace Marie Celmer says:

    I definitely think traveling and spending tim eon your own lives and friends is important. You want to want each other and need each other , but not NEEDDDD each other. Because of work, my husband and i travel separately all the time and enough though sometime it is rough, it makes our time together So special.

    xoxo
    Candace
    http://www.FromCtoC.com

  3. jordan says:

    I could totally understand how that works. I had to go and do some training in Florida and left Gabriel in California for almost a year. We saw eachother a few times, but oh man, it was special when we actually got to see eachother!

  4. Liv says:

    AWWW! I’m glad this is a practice for you! I know many people who have a hard time separating cause it feels so great to be together! but glad you see the health in time apart!

  5. Lindsay says:

    So I have never really been apart from my long-term boyfriend besides a 2 night trip back home and I must say that I really do think that a little bit of separation sometimes is great for a relationship. All of my friends have moved out of the state I live in so I am currently in desperate need for some girl time and just time away from my boyfriend. Even though I love him more than anything… it’s just nice to have that time away to refresh 🙂

  6. Natalie says:

    I think separation (at least a little) makes for a much happier and healthier partnership in the long run. I’m someone who needs more than the average amount of alone time, and my husband needs more than the average amount of personal interaction–we’ve managed to balance our interests since we’ve been married, and it’s worked out really well! 🙂

  7. joanncrohn says:

    I really need this! My son is 14 months old and I am still nursing so I haven’t had a chance to do my own thing for over a year. I truly believe that separation makes the heart grow fonder and it is a very good thing 🙂

  8. Andi says:

    This is such an important aspect to my well-being and the health of my marriage, it is something that my hubby and I have always practiced and will continue to do so!

  9. Amby Felix says:

    It is so important to get away before you feel like you need to get away. I totally believe in having balance! For me, I’m not very social since my friends all live back home, but I do love spending time by myself doing things I enjoy! 🙂 That includes shopping lol!

  10. Ana says:

    Totally agree with you. Although I must be honest… at the beginning of any relationship I do not want anything else but to be glued to my partner. Once the infatuation/craziness that rules our lives at the beginning of a big love, I am all for healthy separation. This year we’ve had a couple of lengthy healthy separations – 1 week, and 2 weeks, and it was great. My son and I were away which gave my husband the opportunity to focus on his work, catch up on his sleep (we’re still co-sleeping), and it gave me the chance to be free (as free as you can be with a 20-months old in tow), free of the domestic responsibilities – cooking, cleaning and sitting on the couch watching TV when I would rather be writing a blog post. 🙂

    • Freely Fatima says:

      Definitely. Relationships have stages and there are times when we must spend more time together than what may be “normal” That’s so important especially when you are first dating and getting to know each other

  11. spiffykermscom says:

    I travel a lot on my own, and I spend a TON of time alone (since my husband works – I don’t anymore…yet). I think it’s a good thing. I feel so independant and I don’t rely on anyone for anything. However, we do catch up on weekends because I really do miss him.

    • Freely Fatima says:

      Independence is so great! And of course we miss our hubbys when they’re gone. Mine is gone for the weekend and I’m trying to figure out if i’m gonna get a good night’s sleep!

  12. LanaLou // TheTruthAboutBlondes says:

    We all need time alone to process our lives and be with ourselves. If you never have time to be with yourself, you can’t be present with others when you need to be.

  13. Katie Matthews (@XKatieMatthewsX) says:

    I’ve been with my boyfriend for 2 years and still struggle to spend one night on my own away from him. I really need to try and get better but I just panic and no longer remember how to handle myself without him in some situations (especially when other men approach me) I’ll take your tips and try to apply them!

    Katie ❤

  14. Fi Ní Neachtáin says:

    Sounds like you had a fantastic weekend. My best friend lives on the other coast of Ireland and we see each other every six months. I spend four days in her house and vice versa. We both miss our partners when we’re away from them at these times but it’s great to catch up with friends.

  15. Jessica says:

    I am a strong believer in not forgetting your friends. Although I’m not married yet, we both try to visit with our friends as much as possible – and luckily we like each other’s friends so its never an issue to all hang out together!

  16. teamwiking says:

    I agree with all of this. I feel like it comes in waves, too. Sometimes you spend more time with your spouse, and other times with your friends. I try to put more effort in when it needs it most.

  17. Rebekah says:

    I enjoy my me time, whether it be an evening or a couple days away at a conference 🙂 I spend the majority of my time though with my husband and my kids, and my real friends understand that – because they do it to. We connect when we can, and it’s fantastic.

  18. Regina says:

    As a single mom I’m constantly seeking the perfect balance between social life, work and parenting. I’m sure, in a marriage I would desire a similar balance. Kudos to you for spending time with your girlfriends and doing the things that make you an individual.:)

  19. RKILP (@RKILP) says:

    I love separate time, we actually do separate vacations and we both come back so refreshed! Obviously we do joint/family vacations too but I’m a BIG fan of time apart. Besides, just because you get married doesn’t mean you don’t get to hang with your girlfriends anymore, right?

  20. Jess says:

    It was a hard time for me adjusting to alone time, but I really value it now. We are getting married in February so I’m making it a habit to spend more time with friends and myself so it can be a part of my lifestyle once I’m married!

I'm so happy you are visiting Freely Fatima. Leaving comments on my posts brings me so much joy! xoxo to you :)

