5 Tips for Surviving Black Friday Shopping

-POP

*Comes up for air* It has been a while since I’ve done a post! Life has been super busy. I miss having the time to blog but school has definitely eaten up a lot of my time. How are all of my lovely readers?

I cannot believe that it is almost November. Time has FLOWN! I can’t believe the year is almost over. We all know that Black Friday is one of the biggest shopping days of the year. I want to give you some tips for this year. The way sales are advertised for black friday can often cloud our judgement. Black friday can be a great day to shop, but can be the beginning of a vicious cycle if you aren’t careful!

1. Only buy what you need, and little of what you want. That $150 32″ TV is a great deal, but are you buying it because you need or do you just really want to get the deal?

2. Do your best to not use credit. You don’t want to be paying on those ‘great deals’ this time next year. Moreover, if you let the purchases sit on your credit card, you will pay more if you think about interest!

3. Create a list and a budget and stick to it, especially if you are shopping for Christmas gifts. This will keep you organized and you are less likely to spend more money than you have. If it helps, create a range of how much you want to spend on a gift (example: Ken, sneakers, $45-$60)

4. Pace yourself. If you can’t get up at 5am or stay awake until midnight, don’t sweat it! That time can be spent with loved ones Β or sleeping off that delicious thanksgiving meal. Stores will market deals for early morning or late night. What they won’t tell you is sometimes they will extend those ‘early bird’ sales for the entire day. (New York & Company does this a lot!)

5. Black friday is not the best shopping day of the year. Don’t only bank on this day to go shopping. After Christmas sales often have even better deals.

Bonus: Don’t want to wait in line or deal with the crowds? Wait for Cyber Monday! This is personally my favorite part of Black Friday. There are some great deals and if you combine it with Ebates bonus cash back you will rake in the savings!

Happy shopping! Who goes out for black friday shopping? I am not a huge fan…my hubby and I will go out at midnight to people watch lol Until next time xoxo

Fatima custom signature

60 thoughts on “5 Tips for Surviving Black Friday Shopping

  1. Brittany says:

    Great tips! I don’t shop Black Friday sales anymore. My friend who works in retail told me that the best deals are usually a couple of weeks before Black Friday. On BF, retailers will mark prices back up to original prices for the sale and then give you a percentage off whereas 2 weeks prior to BF the item could have been 50% off of an already discounted price. I plan to test her theory this year.

  2. bree west says:

    These are great tips! I definitely agree that the sales aren’t the best of the year, while they are definitely great after Christmas is just as good if not better. Some of the “flash sales” are definitely amazing though, makes getting up at 4 am worth it… maybe.

  3. MontgomeryFest says:

    such great tips! I love using my credit card so we can get miles and can forecast in our Mint budget, but for things like this – it’s dangerous because so many little things are easy add-ons!!

  4. Taylor says:

    These are great tips! It can be such an overwhelming time of year. I always think about how much I am going to use/wear something before buying. And I only buy if I absolutely love it!

  5. Heather says:

    Great tips! I try to get all of my Christmas shopping done before Black Friday so I can just shop for myself! Ha ha! πŸ™‚ In all honesty, I try to avoid shopping on Black Friday if at all possible! πŸ˜‰ But these are great ideas!

  6. Kschattner says:

    Nice tips! I never get up SUPER early or stay-up SUPER late to shop…I find the deals are often just as good in the mid-morning + I’m not losing tons of sleep or elbowing other people for the best finds. πŸ˜‰

  7. kireilauriel says:

    It’s amazing how time flies, and how the stores already have holiday decorations up (seriously…?!). Good shopping tips, my younger self would have loved (and benefited) from them. πŸ˜‰ Now my older self would rather get the extra sleep and avoid the chaos of crowds, instead of bargain hunting. Actually, my best holiday shopping is done online, and starts as early as May. I actually got a good chunk done during the Nordstrom anniversary sale back in July. πŸ˜€

    xo,
    lauriel
    EyeForElegance.com

  8. Farrah says:

    I’ve unfortunately done the Black Friday thing with my brother once or twice and he delegated me to stand in lines for him (whatta hater). Never again! D:

  9. Gillian says:

    Oh I love this post and agree with all of your points here! I really feel like in order to get good deals you have to stick with a plan, or else you are going to end up losing money in the end!

  10. Candace Marie (@MsCMarie) says:

    I can’t even believe Black Friday is almost upon us. Where the heck did this year go?! Great tips! Especially about not using credit cards! Im going to try to do my Christmas shopping during the black Friday weekend this year. eek! Lots of planning ahead.

    xoxo
    Candace
    wwwFromCtoC.com

  11. livingstonshousefullofboys says:

    Great tips! I love Black Friday Shopping, but I do stick to my list, I go straight to where my items are and I don’t browse. My husband and I are usually in and out of every store within 20-30 minutes. It’d be quicker, if people would just get out of our way πŸ˜‰

  12. Jess says:

    Great tips! I’m getting married in February and we have nothing together so we are using Black Friday to buy a TV and a few things we need. I’m slightly dreading it, so I’m highly considering Cyber Monday! Though I will admit I love the rush of Black Friday, except I’ve never gone to buy anything high profile like a TV or blender or whatever, so I think that might make it a tad stressful.

I'm so happy you are visiting Freely Fatima. Leaving comments on my posts brings me so much joy! xoxo to you :)

